Welcome to the World of Books in all Languages!      Enjoy Free Shipping on all orders!      Thousands of Books to Browse!

Dover Thrift Editions: EREWHON AND EREWHON REVISITED

  Store Review (4)

Contact Seller

Book Type:
Paperback

Seller : Bookwomb

Chennai,IN

100% Positive Feedback (4 ratings)

Other Products From this seller


More Products
Availability: In stock
SKU:
PRK B 3473
Regular Price ₹299.00 Special Price ₹269.00

Save: 30.00 Discount: 10.03%

Series: Dover Thrift Editions; 
Paperback; 
400 pages; 
Publisher: Dover Publications; 
Language: English; 
ISBN-13: 978-0486796376

FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS. 

Prices are inclusive of Tax.

Share
In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novel Erewhon won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. Samuel Butler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creating Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited, which are widely recognised as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind. 

Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." "George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of Erewhon's writing the author needed" "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." "Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: In addition to his Utopian satire Erewhon, Samuel Butler (1835–1902) remains best known for his semi-autobiographical novel, The Way of All Flesh. His other works comprise studies of Italian art, literary history and criticism, and prose translations of the Illiad and Odyssey that remain in use to this day.
More Information
SKU Code PRK B 3473
Weight in Kg 0.100000
Dispatch Period in Days 3
Brand Bookwomb
ISBN No. 9780486796376
Author Name SAMUEL BUTLER
Publisher Name DOVER PUBLICATION
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Dover Thrift Editions: EREWHON AND EREWHON REVISITED

Similar Category Products





Other Books by SAMUEL BUTLER